The cost of an AI visibility platform depends less on the brand name than on the monitoring job you need to run. For a marketing lead tracking 50 buyer questions every day across three AI engines, the published price can range from $149 per month with xSeek to $99 per month with Semrush when billed annually, while Profound and Peec AI require a quote for ongoing brand tracking. The key is to compare prompts, engines, refresh rate, seats, websites, and onboarding together.

The short answer: budget by tracked workload

For a small team, a realistic software budget is $99 to $499.99 per month when a public plan covers the required questions and engines. That range comes from Semrush's AI Visibility Base plan, billed annually at $99 per month, and xSeek's Growth plan at $499.99 per month.

Profound and Peec AI don't publish a recurring price for the ongoing brand-tracking packages reviewed here. Treat both as quote-only, not as free or low-cost options. Their trial or entry pages show what the products can measure, but they don't give a dependable annual or monthly purchase total.

The same tracking job, normalized

The table below uses one buyer's brief: 50 custom questions, checked daily, across ChatGPT, Perplexity, and one additional engine, for one website and one marketing team. It doesn't pretend every vendor sells that exact bundle. It shows where the public plan is close, where you need a higher tier, and where the price is unavailable.

PlatformClosest published scopeQuestions or checksIncluded enginesUpdate frequencySeatsWebsitesImplementation helpMonthly termAnnual term
xSeekStarter50 promptsChatGPT, Perplexity, GeminiDaily by defaultUnlimited1Self-serve$149/moNot published
SemrushAI Visibility Base25 custom promptsChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini, PerplexityDailyNot stated on page1 domainSelf-serve$149/mo monthly billing$99/mo billed annually, $1,188/year
Ahrefs Brand RadarCustom PromptsStarts at $50/mo, checks depend on selected platformsChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ClaudeDaily, weekly, or monthlyDepends on Ahrefs planNot stated for add-onSelf-serveStarts at $50/moNot published
ProfoundEnterpriseCustomUp to 9 answer enginesDailyUnlimitedUnlimited domainsDedicated support available on EnterpriseQuote-onlyQuote-only
Peec AIStarter, Pro, or AdvancedPlan-dependentPlan-dependentDaily visibility analytics statedPlan-dependentPlan-dependentPlan-dependentQuote-only on current public pageQuote-only on current public page

The rows aren't interchangeable. Ahrefs prices custom prompts by checks and platform selection, so $50 is an entry point, not a confirmed price for 50 questions across three engines. Semrush's public Base plan lists 25 custom prompts, so a 50-question program needs a larger package or a different configuration.

1. xSeek: the clearest monthly price for a team that wants action

xSeek homepage

xSeek is the easiest option here to price from the public page if you want prompt tracking plus a workflow for acting on the results. Starter costs $149 per month and includes 50 prompts tracked daily, three engines (ChatGPT, Perplexity, and Gemini), one website, unlimited seats, 10 action-plan items per month, and self-serve onboarding.

Best for: a marketing lead who wants a fixed monthly bill and an action plan, not just a visibility dashboard.

Pricing: Starter is $149 per month. Growth is $499.99 per month and includes 150 daily prompts, five core engines, three websites, 25 monthly actions, and strategic onboarding. Enterprise pricing is custom. The pricing page says Essential, Starter, and Growth are billed monthly with no minimum commitment.

Limitation: Starter covers only one website and three engines. If your team needs Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Claude, Grok, or DeepSeek, you need Growth or Enterprise rather than treating Starter as an all-engine plan.

The price includes unlimited seats, which matters if a CMO, SEO lead, content manager, and agency partner all need access. It also includes Google Search Console and Google Analytics 4 connections on the published comparison, while publishing integrations and the API start with Starter.

2. Semrush: low annual entry price, but only 25 custom prompts

Semrush homepage

Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit costs $99 per month when billed annually, or $1,188 for the year. The same page lists $149 per month for monthly billing. Base includes 25 custom prompts, one domain for Brand Performance, mentions from ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini, and Perplexity, competitor analysis, prompt research, and daily, weekly, and monthly data updates.

Best for: an existing Semrush customer who needs AI visibility beside traditional SEO data and can start with 25 custom prompts.

Pricing: $149 monthly, or $99 per month billed annually. An additional user starts at $45 per month. A Base Report add-on is $10 per month and a Pro Report add-on is $20 per month. Semrush lists enterprise pricing as custom.

Limitation: the public Base plan doesn't match the 50-question baseline. It also prices extra users separately, so the headline subscription isn't the full cost for a larger marketing group.

Semrush's documentation says Brand Performance automatically generates a mix of branded and non-branded prompts and updates weekly, while custom position tracking can run daily. Ask sales which workflow applies to the exact prompt set you want before comparing it with a daily custom tracker.

3. Ahrefs Brand Radar: two products that shouldn't be priced as one

Ahrefs Brand Radar page

Ahrefs Brand Radar has a public starting price, but the page presents two different buying paths. Custom Prompts starts at $50 per month and tracks the questions you define. AI Visibility Index starts at $199 per month and uses Ahrefs' large prompt database for broad benchmarking.

Best for: an Ahrefs customer that wants custom prompt tracking or a broad market benchmark tied to an existing SEO data set.

Pricing: Custom Prompts starts at $50 per month. AI Visibility Index is $199 per month and includes 83 prompts per day, 2,500 checks per month, all platforms with Claude available, and a $0.020 per-check overage. Ahrefs also shows $699 per month for all-model access in the Custom Prompts pricing area. Annual pricing isn't published on the Brand Radar page.

Limitation: the $50 starting price isn't a like-for-like price for 50 questions across three engines. Each prompt uses one check per platform, location, and update, and Claude uses eight checks per update. You need the check allowance, not just the prompt count, to price the job.

Ahrefs supports daily, weekly, and monthly custom refreshes. Its AI Visibility Index question sets are re-tested monthly on a 90-day reporting window, so it suits market discovery better than a daily custom watchlist.

4. Profound: broad enterprise coverage, quote-only recurring cost

Profound homepage

Profound publishes capabilities but not a public recurring price for its ongoing Enterprise package. The page lists unlimited seats and domains, daily custom prompt tracking, up to nine answer engines, dedicated support, SSO/SAML, and SOC 2 compliance as enterprise capabilities.

Best for: an enterprise marketing organization that needs broad engine coverage, governance, and dedicated support and is prepared to buy through sales.

Pricing: Enterprise is custom, with no public monthly price or annual total. Profound's free Trial includes 50 unique prompts daily for seven days across ChatGPT, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews. That trial is not an annual or monthly production price.

Limitation: a buyer can't calculate the recurring cost from the public pricing page. Prompt volume, engines, AI Marketer credits, support, and implementation need to be written into the quote.

Profound's page says the trial has unlimited seats but no history, exports, API, or support. Those omissions matter if you need to share a baseline with executives or move visibility data into another reporting system.

5. Peec AI: rich measurement scope, no public price to normalize

Peec AI homepage

Peec AI describes Starter, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise packages, but its current public pricing page doesn't show a dollar amount for the monthly or annual plans. It lists coverage fields such as prompts, active models, frequency, countries, projects, languages, competitors, and team users.

Best for: a marketing team that wants visibility, source analytics, gap analysis, recommended actions, reporting, and optional shopping or product tracking in one scope discussion.

Pricing: quote-only from the public page reviewed. No verified monthly price or annual total is published there, so don't copy an older third-party starting price into a budget.

Limitation: you can't compare Peec's total cost with a self-serve plan until sales confirms the prompt allowance, included engines, update frequency, seats, projects, and onboarding terms.

Peec's page says visibility, position, sentiment, and share of voice are tracked daily against competitors. It also lists API, MCP, custom exports, SSO, onboarding, and agent credits as platform areas, but plan placement needs confirmation in the quote.

What makes one platform more expensive than another?

The biggest cost driver is the number of checks, not the number of saved questions. A 50-question watchlist checked on three engines every day for 30 days creates 4,500 requested checks. If a vendor charges per platform or uses credits, that workload can sit in a different tier from a plan that advertises 50 prompts.

Check these seven fields before you compare quotes:

  • Tracked questions: Is the number a saved prompt allowance, a daily prompt allowance, or a monthly check allowance?
  • Engines: Is ChatGPT separate from Gemini, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Perplexity, Copilot, and Claude? It should be.
  • Frequency: Daily, weekly, and monthly monitoring answer different operational questions.
  • Seats: Unlimited seats can make a higher-priced plan cheaper for a cross-functional team.
  • Websites and projects: One domain is not the same as three websites or unlimited workspaces.
  • Implementation: Self-serve setup, strategic onboarding, and a dedicated specialist are different services.
  • Billing term: Record the amount charged, the billing period, the renewal price, and any annual commitment.

The Ahrefs Brand Radar documentation is a good example of why this matters: a prompt checked on multiple platforms consumes multiple checks, and Claude has a different check cost. A low monthly entry price can stop being low once the monitoring design is specific.

How to calculate your real annual and monthly cost

Use the same four-step calculation for every vendor.

  1. Write down the exact questions, websites, countries, languages, and engines.
  2. Multiply questions by engines and updates per month to estimate checks.
  3. Add required seats, projects, engine add-ons, exports, API access, and onboarding.
  4. Record monthly billing and annual billing as separate terms.

For example, xSeek Starter gives a team 50 prompts, three engines, one website, unlimited seats, and daily tracking for $149 per month. Its annualized software cost is $1,788 if you keep the plan for 12 months, but the vendor publishes the purchase as monthly billing rather than a separate annual plan.

Semrush Base gives 25 custom prompts at $149 monthly or $1,188 annually when billed at $99 per month. Doubling the prompt requirement isn't a simple $99 increase, because the public page doesn't state a 50-prompt Base tier.

Profound and Peec require a sales conversation for production scope. Ask for two numbers: the monthly equivalent and the full annual commitment. Keep implementation, support, and usage overages on separate lines.

Which platform should a marketing lead choose?

Choose xSeek when you want a visible monthly price, unlimited seats, 50 daily prompts on the first action-oriented tier, and a workflow that turns visibility gaps into actions.

Choose Semrush when annual billing works for you, 25 custom prompts are enough to start, and your team already relies on its SEO reports.

Choose Ahrefs Brand Radar when you want to connect custom prompts or broad AI visibility benchmarking to Ahrefs data. Price the checks carefully before assuming the $50 entry point covers your full watchlist.

Choose Profound when enterprise governance, broad engine coverage, and dedicated support matter more than a public price card.

Choose Peec AI when you want a wide measurement and action scope and are willing to evaluate the complete package through sales.

For a wider framework that covers fit, integrations, and team requirements, see How to Choose an AI Visibility Platform: A CMO's Decision Framework. It answers a different question from this article: what to evaluate, rather than what the same recurring tracking job costs.

FAQ

What is the cheapest AI visibility platform?

Among the five platforms compared here, Ahrefs Custom Prompts has the lowest published starting point at $50 per month, but that price isn't confirmed for 50 questions across three engines. Semrush starts at $99 per month when billed annually, while xSeek starts at $49 per month for a smaller 10-prompt plan without action features.

How much does AI visibility software cost per month?

Public monthly prices range from small self-serve plans to $499.99 per month for xSeek Growth in this comparison. Profound and Peec AI are quote-only for ongoing production plans, so their monthly cost can't be stated without a scope-specific proposal.

Is Semrush AI Visibility billed monthly or annually?

Semrush lists $149 per month for monthly billing and $99 per month when billed annually for its public AI Visibility Base plan. The annual term equals $1,188 for 12 months at the listed monthly equivalent.

Does Ahrefs Brand Radar include custom prompts?

Yes. Ahrefs lists Custom Prompts as a separate Brand Radar path starting at $50 per month. The final cost depends on platforms, locations, update cadence, and checks, so the entry price isn't a full quote for a multi-engine watchlist.

Does Profound have a free trial?

Yes. Profound lists a free Trial with 50 prompts run daily for seven days across ChatGPT, Gemini, and Google AI Overviews. It doesn't publish a recurring production price for Enterprise on the pricing page.

Does Peec AI publish pricing?

The current Peec AI pricing page lists Starter, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise packages but no public dollar amount for monthly or annual billing. Ask sales to specify prompts, engines, frequency, seats, projects, websites, and onboarding before comparing it with self-serve tools.

Should I compare annual or monthly AI tool pricing?

Compare both. Annual billing can lower the monthly equivalent, but it creates a longer commitment, while a monthly plan shows the amount you pay without dividing an annual contract across 12 months.

Sources & References

Related articles